About Melissa

This is the part where I talk to you about my credentials and experience. What you really want to know is- will we connect? The relationship between client and therapist is the most important part of the healing, growing process.  I like to approach things with a laid-back attitude (interpretation: let’s have a few laughs here and there, 'cause therapy can be hard work!). I am big on self-compassion, as I believe it is the starting place for growing and learning new skills. Skills are great, but if you are beating yourself up all the time, you won’t find much success in the process!


But here is the gist of my experience and background.  I graduated from The State University of NY College at Buffalo with a Bachelors in Social Work.  I then went on to complete my Masters in Social Work at The University of South Carolina. I have worked as a licensed therapist since 2004 helping countless people tend to their suffering and make strides in their overall health.  I’ve worked with teens, couples and adults in an outpatient setting and in a partial hospitalization program facilitating individual, group and family therapy.  I have also worked with children and families in an outpatient clinic setting.  I am a Licensed Clinical Social Worker and I provide supervision for those pursuing licensure in SC.  I am also a Certified Addiction Counselor and will work with those that have a mental health diagnosis along with a substance use diagnosis. I have specialized training in EFT, Gottman Method, and Prepare-Enrich to assist couples in the quest for stable, satisfying relationships.  I also have training in DBT and CBT techniques and consistently attend new trainings around my specialties to learn and grow as a therapist.    


Growing up as an athlete, movement was a big part of my life.  I’ve always been a member of some gym and or make-shifting my own workouts at home. Rest and exercise will always be a part of my routine for my mental health.  In 2016 I decided to turn the hobby into a profession and I became certified as a Les Mills fitness instructor.  I have dialed in my nutrition and love eating real food with a moderation mindset.  I know how difficult diet culture can be on women and I want to have an open conversation about how we can relate to our bodies in a positive way.  


A great day for this introvert would consist of any of the following:  going 'antiquing' with my husband of  13 years, spending time with my 2 kids, walking my dog Pinto while listening to an audio book or podcast, or baking something. And throw coffee in with any of the above and I'm good to go.


I would love to come alongside you on your journey toward living and loving fully, individually and relationally.  You can begin seeing improvements within just a few sessions, so call or email for your free phone consultation today.